Chetan Sharma pips Ajit Agarkar to grow to be chief selector; Abey Kuruvilla and Debashish Mohanty too appointed selectors | Cricket Information

NEW DELHI: The Indian cricket board (BCCI) on Thursday has appointed former India pacers Chetan Sharma, Abey Kuruvilla and Debashish Mohanty as nationwide selectors. Chetan Sharma will change Sunil Joshi because the chairman of the senior nationwide choice committee. Joshi and Harvinder Singh, who have been appointed as selectors in February this yr, will proceed of their roles.
Chetan Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty will symbolize north, west and east zones. TOI understands the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), comprising Madan Lal, RP Singh and Sulakshana Naik had a tricky time selecting between former India pacer Ajit Agarkar and Chetan because the chief selector. Mohanty has been promoted to the senior committee from being the chief selector of the junior committee. Apparently, the committee can be reviewed by CAC after a yr whilst they’re eligible for a tenure of a minimum of three years.

TOI had reported on Nov 15 that Mohanty could possibly be a shock entry and that might result in one other aspirant Ranadeb Bose discovering a spot within the junior choice committee.

Chetan Sharma was appointed because the chief selector as he performed extra variety of Check matches than the others within the panel. Agarkar has performed 191 ODIs and 26 Assessments whereas Chetan has performed 23 Assessments and 65 ODIs. Kuruvilla has performed 10 Assessments and 25 ODIs whereas Mohanty has represented India in two Assessments and 45 ODIs.

Source link

Hits: 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *