Three T20 World Cup European qualifiers cancelled as a consequence of COVID-19 pandemic | Cricket Information

DUBAI: Three T20 World Cup sub regional Europe Qualifiers, pathway tournaments to the 2022 males’s showpiece occasion in Australia, have been cancelled as a consequence of COVID-19, the governing physique ICC stated on Friday.
Finland was set to host their first ICC occasion with the Sub Regional Europe A and B qualifiers beginning subsequent month.
The Europe B Qualifier, involving the hosts, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Luxembourg and Sweden, was as a consequence of be hosted between June 30 and July 5.
The A qualifier was scheduled to start out three days later with Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Israel, Italy, Malta, Norway, Spain all competing till July 13.
The Europe C qualifier which Belgium was as a consequence of host between July 5 and 10 concerned Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Isle of Man, Portugal, Romania, Serbia.
“Now we have sadly needed to cancel the three T20 World Cup Sub Regional Europe Qualifiers as a consequence of begin subsequent month on account of the COVID-19 pandemic,” ICC Head of Occasions, Chris Tetley stated in an announcement.
“…as a consequence of COVID-19 restrictions and the quick timelines that the European season supplies to permit us to progress with the following step within the pathway, there was no different choice than to cancel.
“I want to thank Cricket Finland, the Belgium Cricket Federation and all collaborating Members for his or her collective help in coming to this determination.”
Italy, Germany, and Denmark will now qualify from the Europe sub regional qualifiers A, B and C respectively decided by their place within the ICC T20I Group Rankings as on April 30, 2020.
They are going to now be a part of Jersey within the T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier scheduled to happen in Spain between October 15 and 21, 2021 with two qualifier spots up for grabs within the A or B international qualifiers.
Two different occasions within the 2022 T20 World Cup pathway have additionally been postponed.
The T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier, as a consequence of be hosted in Canada between July 17 and 23, involving the hosts, Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Panama and the USA, has been postponed as a consequence of authorities and journey restrictions.
New dates and host nation can be confirmed in the end.
The Asia B Qualifier, involving Bhutan, China, Malaysia, Myanmar, Hong Kong and Thailand, as a consequence of be hosted in Malaysia between July 11 and 17, has additionally been postponed.
It’s now scheduled to be performed between November 9 and 15 in Malaysia. The choice was taken to postpone as a consequence of intensive quarantine necessities in Malaysia and for the visiting groups on their return to their respective international locations.
As well as, the Ladies’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier hosted by Malaysia has new confirmed dates of November 22-28.
Bhutan, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar, Nepal, Malaysia and the UAE are all set to compete, with the date change permitting Malaysia to host each occasions back-to-back.

Source link

Hits: 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *