Sri Lanka title Kusal Perera ODI skipper; Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews dropped | Cricket Information

Kusal Perera (Photograph by Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Pictures)

COLOMBO: Wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera was on Wednesday named Sri Lanka‘s ODI captain with Kusal Mendis as his deputy for the away sequence towards Bangladesh this month.
Perera, who has represented Sri Lanka in 101 ODIs, 22 Assessments and 47 T20Is, takes over the reins from Dimuth Karunaratne.
Karunaratne, senior all-rounder Angelo Mathews, top-order batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal have been dropped from the squad by the Cricket Choice Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket.
As a substitute, the squad consists of a number of new faces.
Pacer Chamika Karunaratne and batsman Shiran Fernando have earned their maiden limited-overs call-up, whereas speedster Binura Fernando, who has performed a few T20Is, was additionally named within the aspect.
The crew is scheduled to go away for Bangladesh on Might 16 for the three-match ODI sequence to be performed in Dhaka on Might 23, 25 and 28.
Squad: Kusal Perera (capt), Kusal Mendis (vice-capt), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando


Source link

Hits: 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *