Anthony Fauci, Oprah Winfrey, Riz Ahmed among the many winners-Artwork-and-Tradition Information, Firstpost

The awards, began in 1996, have grown to embrace new applied sciences, from apps and software program to social media and video games.

Webby Awards 2021: Anthony Fauci, Oprah Winfrey, Riz Ahmed among the winners

Dua Lipa, from left, Dr Anthony Fauci, and Oprah Winfrey, who’re among the many winners Tuesday on the Webby Awards. (AP Photograph)

New York: Dr Anthony Fauci, Oprah Winfrey, Ava DuVernay, Riz Ahmed, Dua Lipa, Andra Day and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson all received honors Tuesday on the Webby Awards, which acknowledge the most effective web content material and creators.

The Webby Particular person of the 12 months went to Fauci for utilizing digital and social media to succeed in the lots with credible and factual COVID-19 data. DuVernay received the Movie and Video Particular person of the 12 months trophy for her efforts making a database to diversify Hollywood.

This yr marks the twenty fifth anniversary Webby Awards, chosen by the Worldwide Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. It was hosted by actor and activist Jameela Jamil, with appearances from Naomi Watts, Padma Lakshmi and Gayle King, amongst others.

“It is a distinctive yr for the web.” It is that one factor that has saved us linked all yr, ”mentioned Claire Graves, president of the Webby Awards. “Our winners are a testomony to that, actually. They’ve saved us linked in so many various methods. They’ve knowledgeable us – like Dr Fauci – uplifted us and helped us spark international actions as properly. ”

The awards began in 1996 by recognizing web sites. It has grown to embrace new applied sciences, from apps and software program to social media and video games. This yr, organizations added digital and distant experiences.

Ahmed and Day received appearing awards for Sound of metallic and The USA vs Billie Vacation, respectively. Johnson’s use of social media earned him a particular achievement award, as did chef José Andrés, who was acknowledged for tackling meals insecurity.

Different winners embrace Oprah’s Ebook Membership, Ratatouille: The TikTok Musical, NBC Nightly Information: Children Version, We’re george floyd and the podcasts Pod save America, The Motherly Podcast by Kristen Bell and Jemele Hill is Unbothered.

Dua Lipa earned two video awards for Hallucinate and Dua Lipa Has New Guidelines for COVID Courting. Coloration of Change’s #JusticeForFloyd Marketing campaign received the Webby Award for public service and activism. Neil deGrasse Tyson received a Webby for his science and training podcast. Chef Gordon Ramsay, the band BTS and actor Jennifer Garner have been amongst Webby winners voted on by the general public.

This yr additionally marks the inaugural particular achievement award – the Webby Anthem Award – which was awarded to Pharrell Williams for his work in the direction of racial fairness in training and entrepreneurship. The Anthem Awards, launching in June 2021, will rejoice the aim and mission-driven work of individuals, corporations and organizations worldwide. One other new award is the Webby Advocate of the 12 months, which went to “black-ish” and “grown-ish” star to Yara Shahidi for her social justice advocacy and her turn-out-the-vote efforts.

The Webby Social Motion of the 12 months Winner was Cease AAPI Hate for utilizing the Web to successfully monitor and reply to incidents of hate and discrimination towards Asian Individuals and Pacific Islanders in the USA. The academy additionally introduced Comedy Central because the Webby Media Firm of the 12 months after incomes probably the most honors throughout all Webby classes and 14 wins total.

“The best way that folks have used the Web has accelerated a lot this yr that it will likely be fascinating to see how individuals proceed to make use of the brand new expertise,” Graves mentioned. “The web shouldn’t be stopping. It will proceed to develop and develop. “

Source link

Hits: 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *